Australia marks the 150th anniversary of the conferring of self government status for Victoria, New South Wales and Tasmania with the release of special coins by the Royal Australian Mint.

Coins for Victoria, NSW and Tasmania featured at the launch at the State Library of Victoria today. Each coin depicts the development of state boundaries and highlights the history of the States in achieving this particular milestone.

The uniquely designed coins were launched at the State Library of Victoria by Chris Pearce MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer and Bruce Mildenhall MP Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier.

The coins are an enduring collectible that mark the achievement of 150 years of continuous, democratic self-government. Few states in the world can make such a claim. In Victoria the granting of self government holds a special significance because Victoria was the first parliament in the world to passed legislation prescribing elections by secret ballot.

The sesquicentenary, among other things, indicates that 45 years before Federation, Australians were intent on their desire for independent governance and held a strong commitment to democratic principles.

A joint launch by Bruce Mildenhall and Chris Pearce of the Victorian commemorative coin followed the launch of the Tasmanian and New South Wales coins.

“I am delighted to launch the Victorian, Tasmanian and New South Wales coins marking these historic and significant events” said Chris Pearce MP. “The coins remind us of our long and proud democratic history and of our States’ independence and self government.”