(Fallbrook, California) – Jeff C. Garrett, President of Mid-American Rare Coin Galleries of Lexington, Kentucky, has been selected as President of the Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG) for 2005 – 2007. He said he wants to build on the increase in membership started by his predecessor and help oversee the launch of new PNG education and advertising programs.

PNG President Jeff C. Garrett

Celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, PNG is a nonprofit, international organization composed of many of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers.

“I am very proud to serve as PNG President, and look forward to accomplishing several major goals in the next two years. Steve Ivy did a great job recruiting new members during his tenure as President. Hopefully, we can match or exceed those numbers,” said Garrett.

“One of the most important projects I’m going to work on is increasing awareness of the PNG to the coin collecting community, and later to the general public. We’re going to substantially increase our advertising budget, and the PNG Board is committed to educating collectors about the advantages of dealing with PNG member-dealers who must abide by a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise.”

Garrett said he also wants to improve communications between the Board and the PNG general membership.

“There are many important issues facing our profession and the marketplace, and the input of everyone is crucial,” he emphasized.

The 2005 – 2007 PNG Board of Directors is composed of:

President: Jeff C. Garrett, Lexington, Kentucky

Vice President: John Feigenbaum of Virginia Beach, Virginia

Treasurer: Jason Carter of Tulsa, Oklahoma

Secretary: Paul Montgomery of Katy, Texas

Immediate Past President: Steve Ivy of Dallas, Texas

Executive Director: Robert Brueggeman of Fallbrook, California

Directors: Gary Adkins of Edina, Minnesota; Jeffrey Bernberg of Willowbrook, Illinois; Jonathan Kern of Lexington, Kentucky; Richard Ponterio of San Diego, California.

Garrett has been a PNG member since 1982, and is a co-founder of the Bluegrass Coin Club in Lexington. In 2003 he received the organization’s Abe Kosoff Founders Award for his work promoting the hobby and the PNG, and he also received the PNG’s Robert Friedberg Literary Award for his co-authorship of the book, 100 Greatest United States Coins. He is a valuations editor for Whitman Publishing’s annual reference, A Guide Book of United States Coins (the “Red Book”), and currently is working on research in cooperation with the Smithsonian Institution for a new book, The Encyclopedia of United States Gold Coins.

For additional information about the PNG, contact the Professional Numismatists Guild, 3950 Concordia Lane, Fallbrook, California 92028. Phone: (760) 728-1300.