In 1857 South Australia was granted self government and one hundred and fifty years later the Royal Australian Mint has released a special coin to mark the sesquicentenary of this significant occasion.

Unlike other Australian states which were first established as convict settlements, South Australia was a planned and freely settled colony. South Australia was also a world leader in granting women suffrage, the right to vote and the right to stand for Parliament. Officially endorsed by the South Australian Government, this striking $5 fine silver proof coin celebrates the evolution of democracy in South Australia.

Recognising the significance of this anniversary, Janine Murphy, Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Australian Mint commented on the South Australia State Government coin, “This coin is the perfect way to record a significant milestone for those who, like myself, have an affiliation with South Australia”.*

Individually released, the design depicts an evolving Australia with the emphasis on the development of state and territory boundaries, highlighting South Australia achieving its sesquicentenary milestone.

This elegant $5 fine silver proof coin has a low mintage of 12,500 and is the fourth in a series of releases to celebrate self-government and statehood for all states and territories of Australia.

For more information, about the Royal Australian Mint 2007 South Australia State Series or to purchase one of these coins, please visit or call 1300 652 020.

* Janine Murphy (nee Thomas) is a 3rd generation South Australian on her father’s side and a fifth generation South Australian on her mother’s side. Janine was born at Hindmarsh Community Hospital in 1955. She attended Forbes Primary School, Vermont Girls Technical High and Flinders University. Janine is the daughter of Mollie Thomas (nee Burnell) originally of Hindmarsh and Collin Thomas originally of Croyden who now reside at The Pines, Marion Road, North Plympton.