The Perth Mint will strike a second Series of gold and silver bullion coins from its
internationally sought-after Australian Lunar Coin Program.
First issued in 1996, the Australian Lunar design-theme is inspired by legends about
the 12 animals of China’s ancient Lunar Calendar. Series II commences next year
with attractive new designs celebrating the 2008 Year of the Mouse.
Struck from 99.99% pure gold in nine sizes and 99.9% pure silver in eight sizes, the
second Series provides a convenient and affordable method of adding precious
metals to any investment portfolio. The weight and purity of each coin is guaranteed
by its Australian legal tender status.
Like the first Series, the new coins will also appeal to collectors as a result of their
annual design changes, superb artistry, and limited or ‘declared’ mintages. These
characteristics may also create the potential for greater investment return in the form
of a numismatic premium.
2008 Year of the Mouse gold coins depict a mouse crouching on a bed of stones with
chilli peppers clustered in the background. Silver coins portray two mice on a bed of
straw with pumpkins in the background. Both designs incorporate the Chinese
character for ‘mouse’ and The Perth Mint’s traditional ‘P’ mintmark.
The Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the monetary
denomination appear on the obverse of each coin.
As well as the 2008 Year of the Mouse, The Perth Mint’s Australian Lunar Gold and
Silver Bullion Coin Series II is scheduled to celebrate the 2009 Year of the Ox, 2010
Year of the Tiger, 2011 Year of the Rabbit, 2012 Year of the Dragon, 2013 Year of
the Snake, 2014 Year of the Horse, 2015 Year of the Goat, 2016 Year of the
Monkey, 2017 Year of the Rooster, 2018 Year of the Dog, and 2019 Year of the Pig.
Veronica Maguire, General Manager Minted Products, The Perth Mint
Tel (08) 9421 7252 Mobile 0412 114 208 Email